Bookouture - digital publisher of brilliant fiction
Christe Barlow A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother Chick Lit Book Cover

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Ever had the pleasure of collecting your children from the school playground? Even if you haven’t this is a hilarious must-read.

Fed up with the playground mafia at her children’s school, Rachel Young is desperate for a change.

With her family and various pets in tow, a picture-perfect village in the countryside beckons. There, Rachel’s children will be able to keep chickens and skip through fields, and she will bid farewell to the botoxed, fake-Gucci wearing Mumzillas forever.

But at the new school the mums are even worse, and before long, Rachel finds herself contending with a motley crew including Mrs High School Musical, The International Sex God and The Frisky Pensioner.

While the children are practicing their sums and perfecting their reading, Rachel is learning some harsh lessons on the other side of the school gates and ruffling plenty of feathers along the way…

A entertaining, heart-warming and funny tale, perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson, Kerry Fisher and Katie Fforde.

Look out for Book 2 in the series: The Misadventures of a Playground Mother

BOOK REVIEWS

A hilarious observation of playground politics. As funny as it is true…’ Sue Watson

Well-observed, highly-relatable and wickedly-funny.’ Cathy Bramley

‘A hilarious account, cleverly witty all the way through, a very entertaining read.Kim the Book Worm

Full of laughs and hilarious one-liners.JB Johnston Book Tours

Hilarious entertaining read.Chicklit Chickadees Book Tour

‘What a tonic, this book should be available on prescription! Witty and incisive.‘ Matt Franks – comedian

The writing flowed beautifully and guided me from one situation to another seamlessly.’ Angela Marsons

Related Projects
Contact Us

Got us a question? Get in touch.