Bookouture sign Ruby Hummingbird

We are overjoyed to be welcoming Ruby Hummingbird and her heartwarming and moving novels to Bookouture.

Commissioning Editor Christina Demosthenous has acquired two up-lit novels from Clare Wallace at Darley Anderson Literary Agency. Ruby Hummingbird’s The Wish List of Albie Young will publish in November 2019, followed by a second book next year.

Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and The Keeper of Lost Things, The Wish List of Albie Young tells the story of Maria Maple, who lives a very ordered life. On Monday, she does her weekly shop. On Tuesday, she goes for a blow-dry. On Wednesday, she visits the laundrette. And on Thursday – her favourite day of all – she sees her dear friend Albie Young. Except, one Thursday, Albie doesn’t turn up to their favourite café. And when she discovers what has happened to him, and what he has left behind, in the form of his secret wish list, her world is turned well and truly upside down.

Christina Demosthenous said,

I am so proud and excited at the prospect of working with Ruby. Her writing is full of heart, wit, emotion and humour, and reading her stories is like sipping your favourite hot chocolate on a crisp winter’s day – it’s comforting, uplifting and incredibly moreish! The Wish List of Albie Young made me laugh, cry, and give my loved ones a good old cuddle, and I cannot wait for it to warm the hearts of readers around the world. I know that in Ruby we have a fresh and bold new voice in reading group fiction, and I’m certain she’s going to be the next Big Thing.

Ruby Hummingbird said,

I am thrilled to be joining the team at Bookouture – I have admired them from afar for a very long time. Working with them, they are proving to just be as dynamic, friendly and exciting as I hoped they’d be!

Please do join us on Facebook and Twitter to celebrate.