Jill Childs’ Debut to Bookouture

We’re delighted to share with you that Associate Publisher Kathryn Taussig has acquired World English language rights for two books by debut author Jill Childs from Judith Murdoch of Judith Murdoch Literary Agency.

The first book, Gracie’s Secret, is a compelling domestic drama about a mother, Jen, whose three-year-old daughter Gracie is resuscitated at the scene of a deadly car accident. As Jen and her daughter struggle to move on, Gracie begins to tell strange stories about what she heard in the car that day, and what she saw in those moments near death. It will be out in summer 2018.

Child’s second book, also a dark domestic drama, will follow in October 2018.

Kathryn Taussig said,

Gracie’s Secret is a moving and intelligent exploration of what it means to be a mother, and I loved it from page one. It really stays with you – I catch myself thinking about it all the time! There is an enormous about of heart in this book and it’s a real page-turner, too. Fans of Amanda Prowse and Jodi Picoult are going to adore Gracie’s Secret.

Jill Childs said,

I’m thrilled to join Bookouture and already so impressed with its dynamic, innovative team. Gracie’s Secret is a book I’ve long wanted to write but it took the birth of my twin girls to bring it to life. I hope it will appeal to readers who love a fast-paced plot but are also as fascinated as I am about life’s big mysteries – and the power of a mother’s love for her child.

Do join us over at Facebook and Twitter to join in the welcome party.